Awal inaugurates 3 boards – Graphic Online

Dr Ibrahim Mohammed Awal (far left), the Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, swearing in to the Council of the National Film Authority. Photo: Benoît Obuobi

The Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Dr Ibrahim Mohammed Awal, inaugurated three boards of directors of agencies under the ministry, calling on members to come up with strategic plans that will make the country the preferred tourist destination by Africa.

He said that although the sector has great potential to boost economic growth and job creation, such a vision can only be achieved with a strategic plan.

According to the minister, the launch of the “Beyond Return” project was a deliberate plan by the ministry to return the sector to its pre-coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic era, when it was making steady progress.

The agencies whose boards of directors were inaugurated yesterday in Accra are the National Film Authority (NFA), the National Culture Commission (NCC) and the Ghana National Theater (NTG).

Cinema Authority

Veteran actor Mr David Dontoh has been re-appointed as chairman of the NFA board, with Ms Juliet Asante as executive secretary of the 14-member board.

The other members are Yaa Akyema Attafua, Ms. Josephine Ohene-Osei, Dr. Ramatu Mustapha Dadzie and Mr. Samuel Fiscian.

The others are MM. Zakaria Abdulai, Kofi Mathew, Narte B. Nartey, Kofi Ohemeng Owusu, Samuel Gyandoh and Ernest Yaw Boateng, Ms. Rukiyatu Naa Ayikaley Ankrah and Ms. Akofa Edjeani.

Culture Commission

Dr Awal chairs the Board of Trustees of the NCC, with Ms Janet Edna Nyame, Ms Gifty Twum-Ampofo (Deputy Minister of Education), Ms Fatima Abubakar and Kwaku T. Danso-Misa as members.

The others are Ms. Dzifa Kemevor, Osagyefo Kwame Akonu X, Nana Ama Serwaa Bonsu, Ms. Christine O. Asare and Ms. Shirley Nana Akua Frimpomaa-Manso.

The others are Sheikh Zakariah M. Seebaway, Alex Lucky Mensah, Felix Otis Tsibo-Datlo, Dr Misonu Amu, Kofi Adu, Adjetey Anang, Abdulai Awudu, Issahaque Serikpera Naa, Prof. Dzodzi Tsikata and Issiah Kwadwo Ampong.

National theater

Nana Fredua-Agyeman Ofori-Atta was reappointed as chair of the nine members of the NTG board.

Ms. Amy Frimpong was appointed Executive Director, with Dr. Misonu Amu, Kofi Adu, Adjetey Anang, Abdulai Awudu, Issahaque Serikpera Naa, Professor Dzodzi Tsikata and Professor Awo Mana Asiedu as members.

Dr Awal urged board members to collaborate effectively to achieve the vision of their respective agencies.

““ The arts and tourism industry is the third largest producer of gross domestic product (GDP) in the country; we are committed to earning GHc 5 billion per year, and I am convinced that this advice will be the spearhead of the agenda, ”he said.


Nana Ofori-Atta, Mr. Dontoh and Osagyefo Akonu, on behalf of the members of the various boards of directors, pledged to contribute to the realization of the president’s vision of making the country the preferred artistic, cultural and tourist hub in Africa .

They expressed appreciation for the trust placed in them and said they would use their respective expertise to help develop the sector.

Comments are closed.